Tailfeathers
Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: I want to become a veterinary assistant...

Four More Babies Hatched! Luna1285's Avatar
    Name
    lauren
    Thanks

I want to become a veterinary assistant...

I have a part-time job right now and everyone is telling me to "get a better job." Thats all I hear! I am surprised Luna has not learned it yet. Anyway, I was formerly a veterinary assistant. Looking through internet sites to find a job for days now, I could not see myself doing any of these jobs and enjoying them. I am just now realizing that the only thing I want to do is to work with animals I am almost positive that this is the only thing for me. I always had a very strong love for animals, and they seem to like me too, for the most part The problem. I am studying business. I will have my degree after I finish my last 4 classes. I think I should become a Veterinary Technitian, but I cannot go away to college and I don't know if I can afford to do it! I don't know if there are any local schools up in Northern Virginia, I am sure they are somewhere....What do you all think?
    PUERTO RICO

Name
    Alicia
    Thanks

Re: I want to become a veterinary assistant...

I too had thought of working with animals..and I always wanted to be a Veterinarian. I realized though, that I didn't want to be one enough to go to school for 8+ years, and there are a lot of things that I wouldn't enjoy about being a vet. So, I did think about a vet tech, like you, but from what I've heard, the work is basically grunt work, and you really don't get paid much. Not that money is everything, I know that, but I know that I don't want to struggle to make ends meet all my life. I know I'm gonna need to pay for all these animals that I'm undoubtedly going to get throughout my life.