Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Grey Budgies

Name
    Elaine
    Thanks

Grey Budgies

Even though I've been researching budgies for two years and getting their care and genetics pounded into my head it won't be anytime soon that I begin to breed (think: when I'm thirty ). The colors that have caught my eye are the purple line from the blues and the grey line from the blues.....and, yes, I know they are the hardest to breed becuase of 1. purple is very, very recessive and finding a full, nicely rounded genetic line of them is practically immpossible especially considering it's unhealthy to breed two purples together. And 2. Grey budgies are practically nonexistent becuase they are not as bright and colored as other budgies so the market is very slim (fortunately they are dominant even over the greens which comes in handy for creating interesting grey crosses ).

The reason I want to breed these is to get some good genetics in there and better the purple lines as well as hopefully create interest in grey budgies (since there is nothing as beautiful as a striking slate budgie it may not be that hard) as well becuase at least people will be getting a healthy, genetically sound budgie from SOMEONE in my town. The petstores here are atrocious (just check out PetCetera's picture of their bird "cages". Trust me, it is worse in person ).

So, anyways I was wondering if anyone knew someone who bred either purple or grey budgies and, if not, how to find out about bird shows in my area.

that is all.

Click the eggs and hatchlings!

100% Bird-A-Holic Moulting Belinda's Avatar
    Name
    Belinda
    Thanks

Re: Grey Budgies