Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Strange question/situation

Name
    Annette
    Thanks

Strange question/situation

Hi, this is my first time here! I have an odd situation that I am hoping to get some advice on... I have 4 birds (2 cockatiels, 2 parakeets) that are in one cage (they were raised together from birth). The only female is one of my cockatiels. She prefers a parakeet....... They had been "trying" to have sex for about a year (all birds are 2 years old). About a week and a half ago, I caught them actually HAVING SEX. He figured it out! So now my dilemma....

I have to separate the birds so she doesn't keep laying eggs (which I am hoping will start today, we will see if I have an egg when I get home). Do I put the two cockatiels in a cage? Or will she decide to pay attention to my male cockatiel? If so, do I put her in a cage by herself? If she goes into a cage by herself, do I buy another bird, this time female, to keep her companion? Or will it be enough if the two cages are side by side?

I don't want her to be alone and get depressed, but I don't want her laying eggs constantly.

Love the feather family Egg's Cracking... SByrd's Avatar
    Name
    Shana
    Thanks

Re: Strange question/situation

You can put them in a cage side by side, but if you put the male with her they should be fine. Just make sure there is no nest box and decrease her daylight hours. They should be fine together.
    Byrds Tiels Here
    Jasmine- Cinnamon cockatiel
    Paris- Gray cockatiel
    Maxine- Cinnamon Pearl cockatiel
    Hercules- gray split to pearl cockatiel
    Echo- whiteface lutino split to pied cockatiel
    General- Umbrella Cockatoo

Name
    Annette
    Thanks