Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

pmurph5

New parakeet - poop question

I am new to parakeet ownership. We got ours one day ago from a pet store. He was tame in the store (rested comfortably on my hand and shoulder) which is why we chose this particular parakeet. My son named him Blue Eyes.

I am concerned about the color and infrequency of his poop, and about his lack of appetite. Here are my questions.

Blue Eyes' poop is green with white around it. Sometimes it seems runny and sometimes solid (like a pellet). Once it was hanging off his rear for about 15 minutes before dropping.

His poops are very infrequent -- it could be 30-60 minutes between them. I don't know if this is because he has not been eating or drinking much since coming here. He has pecked at millet seeds. But we have not observed him eating or drinking from his main seed and water bowls.

Behaviorally, Blue Eyes is quiet which I think would be expected (getting used to life here). He lets us take him out of his cage and he'll sit quietly on a Tinkertoy perch. He will also sit quietly on my hand or slowly edge up my arm until he is perched on my shoulder. He gets a little ruffled just before being picked up but seems to immediately get over it (no continued ruffling or biting). Mostly though, he sits upright in his cage or on the Tinkertoy perch.

He has chirped only a couple of times, on his own (no stimulation from us).

I have read here and elsewhere about symptoms of sick birds. The only two I think might apply are the poop color/infrequency, and the lack of eating.

-- On the former, I don't know if green is an OK color. Is healthy poop ALWAYS black or can it be green?

-- On the latter, I don't know if this lack of eating (and pooping) is within the normal range for newly-arrived parakeets.