Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: rats!!

Frybird = Flybird Teenager jokulhlaup's Avatar
    Name
    jamie
    Thanks

rats!!

hey all...i have been considering getting a rat for a while now. but i have no experience with rodents at all, so i'm looking for some basic advice. i know they are really smart animals and make good pets. but can i get only one or are they more comfortable with a pair or more. what kind of cage is best (i'm thinking a small rat, but i don't really know how big they get).

i know they are really smart, and so darn cute! i would love to add one to my menagerie. so if anyone has any helpful hints, i would greatly appreciate it!
    rip percy, isabella, and little oliver. i will never forget you...

Tailfeather
    Name
    LC
    Thanks

Re: rats!!

I have two male rats, Oliver and Finley.

If you want a "small" rat, you'll want to go with females, who are generally smaller and more active then males, although this is just a generalization.

Rats MUST be kept in pairs, but trios or more are better. Each rat should have two cubic feet of space I think, but more is always better. My rat cage is the 695 (30" x 18" x 36") from Martin's cages: http://martinscages.com/products/cages/rat/ It may seem like overkill for two, but I would feel horrible having them in anything smaller, they use all the space! Make sure you get a powder coated cage, galvanized wire will soak up the pee smell and stink really fast!

I would suggest doing some research online first, then heading over to a rat forum such as goosemoose.com to ask any other questions you have, as to explain every aspect of rat care would take up a lot of space!

Frybird = Flybird Teenager jokulhlaup's Avatar
    Name
    jamie
    Thanks

thanks LC! i definitely plan on doing a bunch more research before i make any decisions.
    rip percy, isabella, and little oliver. i will never forget you...

Cream of Cockatiel Tailfeather sammit's Avatar
    Name