Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Biting

Brand New Egg
    Name
    Ben
    Thanks

Biting

Hi Everyone

Sorry for posting yet another question when I dont reply to many, Im new to all this.

I was wondering how I can get my cockatiel to step up onto my hand. He happily steps up onto a perch everytime but as soon as I put my hand anywhere near him he goes to bite it.

I have read that I should keep my hand there and not move it to show him that I wonít be put off by his bad behaviour but I just canít do it, my natural reaction is to pull it away.

Any suggestions or clever tricks?

Red-tailed hawk Five Eggs Laid!
    Thanks

Re: Biting

Well... you can do the hand thing you mentioned. Start by only putting your hand as close as you can to your bird without him attacking it or freaking out. Keep it there until he gets comfortable. Tell him he's a good bird and all of that stuff, and reward him with treats. Gradually move your hand closer and closer until he'll let you near him. This might or might not take a while - it's not liable to happen instantly. It's liable to last several training sessions. But if you are patient and give your bird all the time he needs, he'll eventually warm up. He just needs to learn not to fear your hand. (You can always try holding treats in your hand, such as bits of millet, to entice him to come closer to your hand, too.)