Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Brand New Egg
    Thanks

4 wk old Lovebird?

Hi, I have been searching for some time for a bird to adopt, I was looking for a very friendly hand raised bird, so I posted a wanted ad and a lady emailed me and told me that she has baby lovebirds that are almost 4 weeks old, she said I can have one now if I am willing to hand feed it. She has not yet hand-fed these babies, they are still with the parents. She said I should keep the baby in a plastic holding container with a lid on it and airholes, and a blanket & paper towels lining it, and feed the baby 3-4 times a day with the hand feed formula mixed to the right consistency/temperature. Years ago I used to help hand feed baby conures the hand-feed formula with a syringe so I have some knowledge/experience with hand feeding and I have done a TON of research the past few days on raising baby lovebirds - but what I am worried about mostly is temperature. I'm pretty sure a baby bird should not be kept in a plastic holding container with just a blanket. It is used to huddling with the other baby birds for warmth. Basically what I am asking, is this even a good idea for me to take this baby, and if so - what would be the best way to keep him warm? a heat lamp with a red bulb? I feel fairly confident with the hand feeding - I know how to do it, the right temperature and consistency of the formula, the right pace to feed them at, etc. I am just wondering overall if this would be okay for me to do? I am very good with animals and have hand raised baby kittens, bunnies, and rats - but never took on fully hand raising a baby bird. Please any advice and opinions would be great - this is something I really want to do, but I want to do the right thing. Thanks.

Thanks

Re: 4 wk old Lovebird?