Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Working with Geordi! YES!!!

Name
    Roxy
    Thanks

Talking Working with Geordi! YES!!!

So, I decided that since this is my first time trying to tame a completely untamed budgie, I'd start a journal of sorts. I'll post what I'm doing and what progress is being made and hopefully you all can give advice and ideas.

Thus far, I haven't even touched him besides to look him over and make sure he looked healthy when picking him out. He's in his cage and pretty much settled on one perch. He's moved around a bit and even sang a pretty little budgie song at one point. He's asleep now next to his millet, lol. OMG, what a millet nut. He would NOT move at first and then I showed him where the millet was and he basically attacked his toys to get to it. He jumped off the ladder and onto the wicker swing and climbed up various perches to get to it. So, I'm guessing that it's a good way to tame him.

Name
    javi
    Thanks

Re: Working with Geordi!

too funny. i can see her running to get it. so i take it ya will start the taming tomrow. the easiest way to do it. take her from the cage and into another room where she cannot see the cage. set on the floor and just start doing step ups over and over again for a few minutes then praise and put her back. just repeat that and she will be fine. budgies are real easy to tame. i am sure ya can do it
    Life without birds, is not a life I could live

Name
    Roxy
    Thanks

Well, at the moment he is still terrified of my hands so step up will take a little while, but we'll get there.

I'm to young to be Breeding VJS+1Cockatiel's Avatar
    Name
    Victor
    Thanks

I think you have found his weak spot, I'm sure with a lot of coaxing and patience, he will become incredibly tame

I wish you well, plus, I love the name, one of my best mates is called Geordi(actually Geordie)