Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

The Fanatical Eriwinkle Baby Erin CG's Avatar
    Thanks

How I made my plexiglass cage

I am posting this per a request from another user:

How I made my acrylic bird cage:

I went to a home improvement store and bought four sheets of plexiglass, 5/8 inch blunt-ended screws, one sheet of plywood, a long corner wood piece, and a window screen. Estimated cost of materials: $60

Check out the pictures first to see how it is made, as I'm not very good at explaining:
    Side view of the enclosure

Picture with the screen off

Cut the long corner wood piece into four pieces, each as long as a side of plexiglass. Line the wood edge up with a piece of plexiglass, and screw about 6 holes. It is easiest to drill through both the wood and the plexiglass at the same time, although you have to drill very slowly and carefully, or the plexiglass will crack. It's a good idea to have a couple extra pieces of plexiglass on hand. Make sure to mark which side of the wood goes with which side of plexiglass (numbering the sides works best.) Continue until all four pieces have been drilled through. Then set them up and put the screws through, add a nut on the other side of the screw, and tighten. The plexiglass box can be set on the plywood, and the window screen goes over the top.