Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Bird-Safe Cookware

Name
    Christina
    Thanks

Question Bird-Safe Cookware

I'm moving into a studio house soon and so the kitchen is essentially the same as the living area. I know I can't use my mom's teflon coated pans obviously, but what are good kinds of pans and things to use? Are stainless steel or cast iron good? My mom also has these pans from Germany which are not coated with anything but I don't know what there are and I want to know if I can maybe take them as well. (Why I'm taking the stuff is a long story.)
    5 adorable budgies, 1 amazing sun conure!

Perpetually learning... Hatching
    Name
    Russell
    Thanks

Re: Bird-Safe Cookware

Everyone hates my answer to this, but this is what I feel. It depends on the skill level of a cook you are.

Personally, I am a rather skilled cook, and I have teflon pots. Why is this safe? They don't boil dry. Ever. I also don't brown meat in these pots. Ever.

For frying pans, I have a chef pan that is made by Tramontana with the PTFE/PFOA free non stick coating. I got it at walmart for $30 on clearance (I think they're about $50). It's okay, but it kinda sucks.

For an egg pan, I have a sandcoat PTFE/PFOA free non stick pan from JC Penny's. It cost about $20. Works great.

So why do I not use Teflon pans or brown meat in teflon pots, but use teflon bakeware and pots? Simple. Teflon starts to outgas and has been documented to provide toxic to birds around 320 deg f (if the bird is right there), even though it's highly toxic (as in the other room) around 480. If you're browning meat, it's most likely your pan will get to this temperature.

I have cake pans that are teflon coated and never put the oven over 350.

Everything else I have is glass for bakeware.

Stainless steel is good. Cast iron is very good, but you have to learn how to cook differently on it, and it's a little bit of a learning curve.