Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Brand New Egg
    Name
    Sylvia
    Thanks

Diamond dove help: is he sick?

Hello! I'm new to this community and signed up mainly because of a concern I have for a little diamond I purchased two days ago. The bird seems healthy (to me, but I'm no expert..) but all day he's been running back and forth against the side of the cage facing me. I thought maybe he wanted to fly or come out but whenever I return him to the cage he'll perch, nibble some seeds and resume this strange behavior. It's starting to make me a little nervous.. Does anyone have any idea what this could be about?

update: he seems to be fluffed up all the time, i wasn't aware that this was a bad sign ;_; i've hooked up a plain desk lamp that he seems to enjoy sitting under for now that provides a little extra warmth and i'll pick up something proper from the pet store on the way home tomorrow. is there anything else i should do?
    Last edited by xcanary; 11-28-2010 at 07:10 PM.

Bird Brain within Brand New Egg Avi's Avatar
    Name
    Candice
    Thanks

Re: Diamond dove help: is he sick?

I got a heater for my birds... *Just a tiny human one* But, my birds ARE always floofy, They are fine. My birds do the cage dance also, they just want out...
    My 'Keets
    Avi and Ni & introducing Eva

My 'Tiel
    Rehmey.

Name
    Linda
    Thanks

Hi,

I've had Diamonds for many years... he could just be still adjusting to a new owner and environment. Is his cage big enough?? Did he perhaps have a mate before you got him? The fluffiness, provided he is active (and eating, drinking, preening) otherwise, might just mean that he is cold...

Baby
    Name
    Bill
    Thanks

Could be just getting used to a new place to live. As for the heater, sure he would enjoy that. It is just about winter now and cold.

Brand New Egg
    Name
    Sylvia
    Thanks