Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Brand New Egg
    Thanks

Purchased Two Budgies Afraid they Wont Bond With Me Now

As the topic states my wife and I recently purchased two budgies at 4 months old. This is my first time to have any sort of bird as a pet, while my wife has experience with budgies as pets. My concern is learning after the fact most articles and books recommend if you want tame budgies to only have one at a time. If you start with two most resources state they will not bond with humans and instead bond with each other.

We purchased the budgies from a local bird store that has a good reputation. All of their birds are supplied by local breeders. The individual in the store who seemed knowledgeable suggested taming two budgies at once is not problematic IF you take them out one at a time and spend time with them that way.

I would like some feedback and suggestions on what to do. Should I return one of the budgies or purchase an additional cage to separate them in the mean time? Will I be able to tame two at a time?

Thank you for your time and input

Name
    Kimberly
    Thanks

Re: Purchased Two Budgies Afraid they Wont Bond With Me Now

I don't think it will be a problem trying to tame both at once. It may help to keep them in separate cages until you get them both used to you. Also, do you know that they are the same sex? And how old they are? Depending on their age/sex you may want to keep them separate anyway.

I do think that both you and your wife need to spend time with them separately each day. This will help them be socialized better. And give them out of the cage time together each day. Taming takes a long time so don't get discouraged. It may take many months to get them to where they like you and want to be around you.
    In loving memory of Mattie the...

Baby
    Name
    Bill
    Thanks