Tailfeathers
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Hybrid View

Name
    Lauren
    Thanks

Red face Taking birds on train

Hi everyone I am new here and it's been lovely reading about everyone's lovebirds, they are so cute with such personality.

I am a university student and my house for next year allows pets, I am planning on getting 2 budgies or 2 handtame lovebirds however to get from my hometown to university is a 2 hour drive or 2 and a half hour train journey. My parents will be talking the bird up and down in the car for the start and end of the year(in a small travel cage) , but for christmas and easter I would need to catch a train it would be 2 trains with a very short change over in the middle and then being picked up in car or catching a bus. I will have a second cage at home already set up for their arrival to minimise stress and get will them unpacked into the cage first. I have checked the regulations and I can take them on the train, but I wanted to ask if I should get a small cardboard box with air holes (this is what a pet shop recomended but it seems horrible for the journey) or a small travel cage. Should I keep the birds covered? Should they be in seperate travel cages? Should I give them a perch or a soft bottom? Also if it is very cruel to travel on the train for this journey, I'm sure I can coherce my parents into taking me in the car