Tailfeathers
Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie bird owner with some (long) newbie overview, and questions.

Bird beginner Brand New Egg Sonneillon's Avatar
    Name
    Jessica
    Thanks

Newbie bird owner with some (long) newbie overview, and questions.

I have brought home a 4 month old cockatiel from a pet store 3 days ago.
    It was a generic petstore which does not specialize in birds. The birds are not tame and scared to death of everything. When I chose the bird I wanted, the store lady put on a glove and grabbed the screaming bird in a flurry of feathers, after which it was put into a shoebox for me to take home.

I am completely new to birds and did not realize at the time that I should have visited a breeder who has hand raised their birds with care and on a proper diet. @_@

Anyway, she (assuming it is a she) has been with me for 3 days now.
    Feeding
    I am currently supplying her with seed mix until my order of pellets arrives. I have tried putting chopped spinach and carrot into her bowl but she tosses those aside. Hopefully she will start to get a taste for veggies eventually.
    I put crumpled pieces of paper on her food to encourage foraging.

Behaviour

On the first day, she did not eat and stayed in one spot at first for half of the day. She responded quietly to sounds and my voice. Some time in the evening she began to climb around the cage , jumping into the water bowls and trampling all over her food. She did not eat. She sat at the bottom of the cage fluffed up throughout the night.