where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Newbies :-)

Brand New Egg
    Name
    Sandy
    Thanks

Newbies :-)

Hi I am sandy I live in mn USA :-) just inherited two budgies with 2 babies left In the nest. I was told by gramps the babies were due out of the nest anytime but I know nothing else about the babies or parents age etc except they are good parents and had three babies that my brother took to his house that were older by three mos or so. I am new to baby land birds but I know I want them to be tame if I keep them or not. I am in need of advice
    About when I can start taking them out of the nest to handle. I can't hand feed as I work full time. Do I need to leave that nest in there and for how long. They haven't come out on their own yet. Do I need to wait for that? I have had a cockatiel and parrotlet but they were fully weaned when I got them I' don't want to do anything that would make the parents stop feeding them. HELP! :-)
    Thanks,
    Sandy

Tailfeather
    Name
    Ellen
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,285 Times in 1,284 Posts

Re: Newbies :-)