Tailfeathers
Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Pied baby, purple/red eyes? Gender guesses?

Brand New Egg
    Thanks

Pied baby, purple/red eyes? Gender guesses?

Hi all!

I have a new pied baby, hatch date of 6/10/14, so 9 weeks old. We have had him about a week. When I look at him, I get a male vibe. We named him Christoff for the time being. I know pied is hard to sex so I have a kit coming in the mail for a DNA test. In the meantime though I figured I'd see what people thought!

Also I don't typically use flash, I'm huge on natural lighting. For these pics I used flash and I've noticed his eyes are a purple ish red color. Like a plum maybe. Is this normal? I had a normal gray growing up and never saw his eyes like this. I'm new to the pied mutation.

The dad was lutino and the mom was muted gray. He had 2 other siblings, one lutino and one muted gray.

Tailfeather
    Name
    Ellen
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,313 Times in 1,312 Posts

Re: Pied baby, purple/red eyes? Gender guesses?

Hi, and welcome to the community. Christoff is so special and handsome. I lean towards a male, although, as you said, it is hard to sex them. It is good you are doing the DNA test. The tail feathers do include some with bars, however, in my view there are more black and grey feathers than those that are with bars. Another clue for a female is to look at the under wings. Normal grey females have beautiful underwings. They look like lace, with those yellow and white markings, similar to the picture you posted of the tail feathers. And the cheeks are very bright orange/red, whereas, females generally have lighter colored cheeks.