Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Want a Cockatiel, but Have some questions

Brand New Egg
    Thanks

Want a Cockatiel, but Have some questions

Hi all,

I'm new to birds, and have only kept leopard and crested geckos before. I have been watching these forums for a while, but this is my first post. I have already found loads of information, so thanks guys! I plan on getting a 24x21x24 wire cage, food and water dishes, pellets as a main diet with veggies, perches, toys, and newspaper for the floor. I still do have a few questions though.

1. How often do molts occur, and what are some problems that happen? How can you help with those molting problems?
    2. This may seem kinda silly, but how hard are there bites? (the one cockatiel at my school that I help take care of/ socialize with, only ever acts like he will bite, but then just kinda licks your hand.)
    3. How many hours a day should I be ready to devote to my cockatiel?
    4. Where is the best place to get a tame, hand fed cockatiel?

Thanks in advance!

Tailfeather
    Name
    Ellen
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,295 Times in 1,294 Posts

Re: Want a Cockatiel, but Have some questions

Hi, and welcome to the community. Cockatiels are people birds who are very intelligent, determined, and like to be the center of attention. Yes, they can bite hard, especially when they are new to your home, because Nature has equipped them with wings to fly away from danger, and also tbeir beaks pritect them from predators in the wild. But they can be trained, and then would not be so apt to bite. Every bjrd will bute on occasion, dve whern tame.

If you are looking for a hand tame and handfed bird, you will most likely need to find a breeder in your area. You also may be able to find one that is older if there is a bird rescue in your area, or, look in your local newspaper ads, or check various pet stores in your area, tbey may have hand fed and tame birds.