Tailfeathers
Contact | Tour
where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Adopting a friend for my Lovebird?

Brand New Egg
    Name
    Skyler
    Thanks

Adopting a friend for my Lovebird?

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, so hello all!

I figured I'd better describe the situation, and my lovebird's personality to start with.

I've been caring for a wonderful lovebird named Bubba for about 2 years now (they were 6 when I took them in). It was a complicated and unexpected situation - they'd been given away to a relative of mine who did not have the ability to care for them, so I took them in. What I know about their life before I took over their care, is that they used to have a friend who died not long prior. Their previous human would get angry when they made noise, and had barely any contact with the birds. I believe Bubba was more noisy after the loss, which was why they were given away. The cage seemed way too small, especially for two lovebirds.

Bubba has been getting progressively more comfortable with me, but you can tell they haven't had much positive interactions with people in the past. They will fly to my finger when they feel like it now (and sometimes when I ask), get clingy when I've been outta the room for a while, but they're scared of fingers moving towards them in any way unless I'm holding treats. They'll step up onto a stick happily, and fairly enjoy the bedtime 'cage time' ritual.
    I had to grab them suddenly once, and they held a grudge for a week - biting me whenever I went to change the food. They will sit happily on my finger and relax with me, but I can't touch or handle them at all. They also get defensive of their perches - especially flat or new ones, as I think they feel more vulnerable. The feathers at their nape stand up, and they will charge and bite.