where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: Afraid male budgie and biting female budgie

Brand New Egg
    Name
    PT mom
    Thanks

Post Afraid male budgie and biting female budgie

Hello! Thanks for adding so soon. I am new to parakeets and I have male budgie for 3 weeks and female one for 2 weeks.
    Male one is just scared of human and when I let him out he hid on the hungers both time and gone missing few hours lol
    Only thing he let me is eating out of my hands. He used to let me scratch him when he was sleepy, but lately he just shows his back
    or scratching himself(he is moulting) and ignoring. He got really thinner but he eats good and poop is good as well.They were both about
    2 months from breeders.

Other female budgie was really tame and she was on my shoulder or finger long time for first 2 days but since a day I put her on a cage
    and was working a while in a house, she won't stay on my shoulder anymore and just chilling on a cage or computer screen and if I put
    a finger she just bites me(also everyone)Is this from moulting or just what she is? I want them both tame, but it's so hard especially
    for male one. When I was like 10 years old I had a hand tame Japanese budgie my grandma gave me,and he has been tame and speaking a lot
    until he passed away.

They both aren't completely tame so they aren't in same room right now.
    Any advice will be appreciated thanks!

Name
    Deanna
    Thanks

Re: Afraid male budgie and biting female budgie

Welcome to the forum. I think maybe they are settling in and also maybe missing there cage mates and the breeder who raised them. I never owned buddies but do no that most birds can be bribed with there favorite foods. A girl here used spray Millet to bribe her budgies to her. Sweet talk works as well. I feel they may decide to like you again once they fully accept there new home and you they will become friendly again.