where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gouldian finches

Name
    Jennifer M
    Thanks

Gouldian finches

Hello! I'm not new to this site, but I am new to Gouldians. Long story short: I went to a nearby bird show and came home with a male Gould. We have lovebirds, and we were looking into getting owl finches, but the breeder wasn't there. There was a little black-headed Gould all by his lonesome, so we brought him home.

I've been gathering info on our newest baby, Napoleon, and it seems that Goulds are a bit harder to keep, as opposed to other finch breeds. Oh boy!

So ... Fellow Gould owners: Help!

Do they have to be kept in pairs? If so, can I put another male in with him, or would that be a prob?

If I put in a female, is breeding as complicated as it seems? I've read that they may abandon eggs - so then you need society finches, who then step in to raise the babies. (You start with 1 finch, and it becomes a slippery slope, and you wind up with an aviary! ) There's also dietary changes when breeding vs. their regular diet?

And speaking of diet, what is Napoleon supposed to be eating? For my lovebirds, per our vet, they get a mix of pelleted diet, with about 20-30% seeds, and fresh veggies/fruits. But a breeder told me that she only fed her finches seeds. Wait, what? I've also seen cages of finches with what looks like balls of timothy hay. Do they need that, too? Or is that only for nest-building?

Pics of my little Napoleon are in my album.

One of the ladies at the bird show said that she called Gouldians "Mardi Gras finches", because their colors are purple, green and gold. Even though we live here, we don't really do Mardi Gras, except for a select few parades. Napoleon is one of those, so my son named him Napoleon.
    Jennifer M.