where bird lovers gather
Bird InformationMessage BoardNetwork Home

Thread: New Budgie Panting/Breathing Faster

Brand New Egg
    Name
    Julia
    Thanks

Exclamation New Budgie Panting/Breathing Faster

Hi everyone, I am brand new to Tailfeathers! And I need a little advice.

I recently adopted/rescued two budgies from a humane society. They had been there two months, and before that somebody had thrown them in a dumpster. They look healthy to me, and the shelter also said they were healthy to the best of their knowledge. Their feet are smooth, eyes and ceres clear with no discharge, vents look okay, feathers are fine, and they are grooming, making sounds, hopping from perch to perch, and will eat. So far they have only eaten millet, and I have yet to see them touch water, seed, or pellets. They would not touch the millet that was partially in the seed dish. I know that it can take a few days for them to do that, so I'm not worried for now. They also seem petrified of me; they would not fly out of their travel cage into the big cage, so I had to catch them (big freak out) and place them there. They freeze when I come in the room, and avoid my hand at all costs when I put it in the cage to do something like change water. I know they'll eventually come around.